Loot Crate Unboxing – December 2015

Yes, yes, I’m behind on my postings.  I know this, and extend my sincere apologies to any consistent, loyal readers I may have left.  For now, we move on to the unboxing of the December Loot Crate: Galaxy.

December Loot Crate: Galaxy
December Loot Crate: Galaxy

Beginning on the left, we have a very cool tin from A Crowded Coop.  It’s done in the style of the ammunition tins used by UNSC soldiers and Spartans in the Halo universe.  The graphics on the tin are very impressive and proudly show the UNSC logo.  Actually, most of the items from the crate were inside this tin for shipping purposes.  It was kind of like a double unboxing this month.  Another piece of loot was even tied specifically to this one: a code for a REQ Pack to use in the Halo 5: Guardians game.  I don’t have the game yet, but look forward to using it once I get in on the action.

I don’t have any of the Level Up perks, so it’s been a while since I got a cool pair of socks from Looting HQ.  This month’s socks do not disappoint, featuring everyone’s new favorite droid from a galaxy far, far away: BB-8!  Having seen the movie, I can say (without spoilers) that he’s pretty awesome.  If you haven’t seen the movie yet, what are you waiting for?!

I’ll be honest.  I’m not overly into the whole ‘ugly Christmas sweater’ thing, but this ugly sweater t-shirt from the Loot Crate Labs is rather splendid.  It features highlights of our solar system and space program, as well as what I’m guessing to be either a Mars rover or the rover that NASA landed on a freakin’ comet this (last) year!!  While it arrived too late for most of the holiday parties of December, it is much appreciated for the holiday season next (this) year.

Never give up, never surrender! The mantra of Commander Peter Quincy Taggart of the NSEA Protector in the movie Galaxy Quest.  While the movie does riff on Star Trek and its fans, it does so in a way that makes for a great movie that Trekkies can appreciate.  I should know, as I am a Trekkie and love this movie.  I’m stoked to have a prop replica of the logo patch worn by the Galaxy Quest crew.  I look forward to adding it to my convention attire in some way.  Also, apparently there’s  spin off movie coming out in 2016?  Please, don’t fail us Hollywood.

The last piece of loot (other than the button we get every month tied to the theme) now proudly adorns my desk at work.  Like the BB-8 socks, this loot comes to us in conjunction with December’s release of Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Han Solo, (spoilers) in his snow gear, comes to us as a Loot Crate Exclusive Funko POP! bobble head.  Naturally, he’s wielding his DL-44 blaster pistol, (spoilers) despite his new affinity for Chewie’s bowcaster.

Well, that wraps up another month of looting.  What was your favorite loot from this (last) month? Are you continuing into the new year, or perhaps just getting started as a New Year’s Resolution?  Leave a comment, and loot on!

Leave a comment